The Mother of Head Bangers

Story 10-15-2012

I have decided that an easy way to acquaint readers with my ‘humanness’ is by telling stories on myself. Each time I blog and post, I will try to recall an event from my memory. – It is probably the closest to an autobiography (or ANY bio for that matter) that you will ever see.

Now that my age has slowed me down and soreness makes it impossible to lay still, I find it comforting to rock back and forth when I am in bed, sometimes. I am reminded of when my kids were little and how annoying it was when they would not sit still. I later learned that lots of kids besides mine were ‘headbangers,’ although I perceived it more like a body slam against the back of whatever seat or chair they were sitting in.
I was eventually blessed with six kids, but after three, and then four, it became more difficult to manage things away from home. As a result, my outings (none too numerous to begin with,) grew fewer and farther between. In the days before cell phones and wireless anything, one of my most horrible nightmares was that whatever old car was driving would break down in the middle of nowhere and I would have no food or water for the kids.
But occasions did arise that I needed to go ‘to town’ and the kids’ father was not available to drive for me. For years I had both a toddler and a babe-in-arms. The baby wrote in a basket in the passenger seat, while the toddler and the older kids sat in the back seat. We did not bother with seat belts, but everybody knew that if there was not too much activity in the backseat, I would pull out of traffic and park until everybody was sitting quietly again. I seldom had to stop more than once on a trip and more often, not at all. My kids knew I never made idle threats.
I believe I was taking one of the kids to Lincoln, Nebraska from where we lived on a farm outside Weeping Water, on the day I found my most terrifying nightmare coming true. It was mid-morning, and traffic was brisk on the two-lane highway. Places to pull out were few and most of them lead to someone’s drive, not likely to be a place one would be welcomed with a broken down car and a bunch of tired, cranky kids. There were almost no businesses and even fewer public pullouts.
The old car that had been purring along smoothly for 20 miles suddenly began to surge and hesitate, almost like it was running out of gas! Heart pounding, I checked the gas gauge: almost full not the problem. I looked frantically for a place to pull out, checking mentally that I had enough water, changes of clothing, snacks, and proper food for lunch – no blankets, hopefully we would not be stuck overnight – –
When the last of the traffic finally got past me and I spied a place to pull off. I risked a glance in the rear view mirror, and turned it down to check on the kids: they were all rhythmically banging their heads at the same time. The car surged as they leaned forward, then hesitated noticeably when they all hit the seat and bounced back.
They probably thought I had lost my mind when I got parked, but the car, they discovered, was one place you did NOT bang heads, together, at the same time…

4 Responses to “The Mother of Head Bangers”

  1. Amedar Says:

    Amedar Consulting…

    I will right away clutch your rss as I can’t in finding your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please permit me recognize in order that I could subscribe. Thanks….

    Like

    • vampirewars Says:

      Sorry, no newsletter so far. I understand the rss works well, though, and I post updates on Twitter (vampirewars) and Facebook (Myrna Throckmorton) when I blog. I hope you like the biographical anecdotes. They are fun to write, and it is interesting what I remember when I sit down to do one…

      Like

  2. nike free Says:

    I truly wanted to construct a brief remark in order to express gratitude to you for all of the remarkable tactics you are giving out on this website. My time intensive internet lookup has at the end been recognized with awesome facts and strategies to go over with my guests. I ‘d express that many of us website visitors are unquestionably endowed to live in a fabulous website with so many awesome professionals with useful tricks. I feel really grateful to have discovered the website page and look forward to really more brilliant minutes reading here. Thanks a lot once again for a lot of things.

    Like

    • vampirewars Says:

      Thanks for the comments. I will post updates on my progress as I use the things I blog about, so stay tuned. I haven’t tried the rss feed but am told it gets the job done, so you may want to subscribe to that. I also post notices on Twitter (vampirewars) and Facebook (Myrna Throckmorton) when I blog. I hope you enjoy my biographical anecdotes. They are fun to write, you might try some yourself. They are also enlightening, sometimes…

      Like

Leave a Reply

